Facebook Twitter

Donate to BlackPast Blog
  • African American History
  • African American History in the West
  • Global African History
  • Perspectives

NOTE: will not disclose, use, give or sell any of the requested information to third parties.

10 + 1 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.

Rock the Vote

NAAAS & Affiliates 27th Joint National Conference

Shop Amazon and help in the Classroom

Butler, Octavia E. "Junie" (1947-2006)

Image Ownership: Public Domain
Octavia Butler was born on June 22, 1947, in Pasadena, California, to Laurice and Octavia Butler.  Her father passed away when she was a baby, so she was raised by her grandmother and her mother.  As a girl, she was known as Junie, derived from "Junior" since her mother was also named Octavia.  Butler’s mother worked as a maid to provide for the family after her father died, but they continued to struggle in a poor, racially-mixed neighborhood throughout her childhood.  

Butler grew up shy, losing herself in books despite having dyslexia. Octavia Senior could not afford books, but she brought home the discards of the white families for whom she worked.  Butler began writing when she was 10 years old and told friends she embraced science fiction after seeing a B-movie called "Devil Girl from Mars" and thought, "I can write a better story than that."

Butler earned an associate's degree from Pasadena City College in 1968 and later studied at California State University, Los Angeles.   Over the next few years, she religiously got up each day at 2 a.m. to write.  Her first novel, Patternmaster, was published by Doubleday in 1976. It became the first installment in Butler's highly regarded Patternist series, whose later titles included Mind of My Mind (1977), Survivor (1978), Wild Seed (1980), and Clay's Ark (1984).   In 1979 she published Kindred, a novel that uses time travel to explore slavery in the United States.  Kindred became the most popular of all her books, with 250,000 copies currently in print.  Among Butler's other books are the Xenogenesis trilogy, published by Warner Books, comprising Dawn (1987), Adulthood Rites (1988), and Imago (1989).  

In 1995, Octavia Butler was given a MacArthur Fellowship, the first science fiction writer to receive the award. She also received two Hugo Awards from the World Science Fiction Society and two Nebula Awards from the Science Fiction Writers of America.

Butler moved to Seattle, Washington in 1999, and in 2006 she died suddenly after a fall outside her home in Lake Forest Park, Washington.

Margalit Fox, “Octavia E. Butler, Science Fiction Writer, Dies at 58,” New York Times. March 1, 2006,


University of Washington, Seattle

Entry Categories:

Copyright 2007-2017 - v3.0 NDCHost - California | | Your donations help us to grow. | We welcome your suggestions. | Mission Statement is an independent non-profit corporation 501(c)(3). It has no affiliation with the University of Washington. is supported in part by a grant from Humanities Washington, a state-wide non-profit organization supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities, the state of Washington, and contributions from individuals and foundations.